Marco Tarsia

JT BARLOW & Associates

Erstellt am: Mai 21st, 2010

Asian overseas call caller phone SPAM is hitting Europe again. This time it is JT BARLOW & Associates allegedly based in London, calling the unexperienced greedy want to be option traders and telling a tale of the fortune to be made with gold options trade.

Now gold is not necessarily the safe haven to put your wealth in as there is no longer a real demand on the market (compared to metals or let’s say resources in general, that are in demand for industrial purposes or consumption) but speculations only as it in fact acts a currency substitute, but that risk is another story.

Now that representative of  ’JT BARLOW & Associates’ claims to be able to open up an online trading account at the ‘Swiss Commodity Options And Futures Exchange’ or SCOFX in short. Asking Google for scofx, you will find scofx.com which will actually list ‘JT Barlow And Associates’ as one of the Swiss Commodity Options And Futures Exchange Division Non-Clearing Member Firms, but the SCOFX is just a deception, the page is registered somewhere in the Philippines and does not belong to any existing legal body – let alone an authorized commodities exchange.

Talking about the Philippines, the website of ‘JT BARLOW & Associates Global Wealth Management’ with equivocal establishments in New York, London, Chicago and Tokyo, is registered with the same Philippine registrar as the forged scofx.com on behalf of an individual web designer in Quezon City, Metro Manila since February:

WHOIS Registration Service Provided By: PINOYDNS
Domain Name: JTBARLOW.COM
Registrant: Web Design - ROT13[Ebq Abynfpb (ebqabynfpb@tznvy.pbz)]
Quezon City, Metro Manila, 1113 PH
Creation Date: 10-Feb-2010 – Expiration Date: 10-Feb-2011

Sounds suspicious? Very much so! This JT BARLOW & Associates simply is a fake, as is the ‘authorizing’ SCOFX. To add some additional credibility deception to their plot, this pretended global wealth management company released a forged public relations article ‘JT Barlow And Associates Hires Jeff Bronson As Senior Global Economist’ on PRLog in April 2010, claiming the original issuer to be ‘CNN Business News’ which would presumably mean CNNMoney.com or CNN in general. I bet they won’t be too fond of having their name abused in plotting an online scam on ingenuous investors.

So if you receive a call from any such trading firm, keep them in the line as long as possible to make them waste as much time and money as possible, take your time to check the websites and their WHOIS information, do a little background research and spread the word to protect those who aren’t that well educated on oversea cold call telephone fraud as you are now. And of course – never give away any real data – not even your e-mail address. In most cases they don’t have anything but your phone number and may be a name yet. Let’s keep it that way.

Swiss Commodity Options And Futures Exchange

Erstellt am: Mai 21st, 2010

Again overseas cold callers go phishing across europe. This time I received a call from JT Barlow And Associates claiming to trade gold options at the Swiss Commodity Options And Futures Exchange – SCOFX. There is a website scofx.com where – amongst several other companies – JT Barlow And Associates is listed under the “Swiss Commodity Options And Futures Exchange Division Non-Clearing Member” firms. Unfortunately the contestable site does not provide any credentials to check on the organization. On the other hand how could that possibly be done for a commodities exchange that simply doesn’t exist? The domain SCOFX.com has just been registered in January at some registrar in the Phillipines to some Web Design individual in Quezon City, Metro Manila, 1113 PH. on 19-jan-2010, last updated on 20-mar-2010 according to WHOIS.

So if you receive a call from any representative of JT Barlow And Associates and you want to have a laugh, just play along and make them waste their time and money – otherwise just hang up, it’s just a criminal fraud.

SMTP Blacklists falsch verstanden

Erstellt am: Mai 4th, 2010

Einen Apache Webserver mit einer Blacklist, die selbst nach eigener Aussage des Spamhaus Project für den Schutz von E-Mail annehmenden Servern gedacht ist (das trifft sowhl auf SBL als auch XBL zu) schützen zu wollen ist wohl trotz der technischen Möglichkeit vorhandener Servermodule eher kontraproduktiv.

Das Problem ergibt sich spätestens dann, wenn eine zuvor von beispielsweise einem Spambot-infizierten Rechner auf die Blacklist beförderte IP-Adresse in den Adresspools der DSL-Anbieter an einen anderen ‘unschuldigen’ Kunden weitergegeben wird.

Den direkten SMTP-Versand zu sperren, wie es die beiden Blacklists vorsehen, ist nicht weiter tragisch – schließlich soll auch der neue Kunde keine E-Mail direkt an den SMTP-Server des Empfängers zustellen, sondern seine legitimen E-Mails über einen Message Submission Server (z.B. SMTP über Port 587) absetzen, der in aller Regel eine Anmeldung erfordert. Der Einsatz der meiner Meinung nach sehr gut geeigneten Blacklists des Spamhaus Project ist hier also sinnvoll und uneingeschränkt empfehlenswert.

Dem neuen Inhaber der blacklisted IP-Adresse aber mit einem Modul wie mod_spamhaus oder mod_defensible gleich den Zugang zu HTTP-Diensten zu verweigern ist eher ein Präventivschlag auf Pauschalverdacht. Es trifft also ganz leicht mal einen Unschuldigen, der dann mit mit einer nicht gerade jedermann verständlichen Meldung wie “You don’t have permission to access / on this server because you are currently blacklisted by a DNSBL server” nicht nur auf einer gefährdeten Seite, sondern serverweit ausgesperrt wird. Die Erfahrung, dass die Anzahl solcher Kollateralschäden beim Blocken von HTTP-services mit SMTP Blacklists unverhältnismäßig hoch ist, haben andere schon vor Jahren gemacht.

Klar reicht es, seine DSL-Verbindung abzubauen und in der nächsten Runde IP-Lotterie auf eine saubere Adresse zu hoffen. Aber genau das ist die Grenze, an der IT-Systeme nicht länger benutzerfreundlich sind. Das ist wohl immer der Fall, wenn Defizite einer ungeeigneten technischen Lösung manuell aufgefangen werden müssen – IT zu Fuß.

Und solches seinen Benutzern zuzumuten ist – wenn nicht offen benutzerfeindlich – zumindest schlechtes Karma. ;-)

D-Gewinnspiele und der Chancen-Buster

Erstellt am: September 17th, 2009

Ein Chancen-Buster? Warum sollte ich mir meine Chancen “busten” wollen?

Vielerorts beworben, bietet die Clash Media GmbH aus München unter der domain d-gewinnspiele.com immer wechselnde Gewinnspiele zur Adressgenerierung an. Die Preise klingen meist recht verlockend, stellen aber eine geringe Kompensation zur umfassenden Freigabe der persönlichen Daten für Marketing Werbung und sonstiges in der Richtung dar. Wer brav seine kompletten Daten inklusive Geburtsdatum, Festnetz und Handynummer angibt, kann sich auf einige Werbekontakte gefasst machen, denn man bestätigt in etwa: weiterlesen… »

Darmstadt und das Loop 5 in Weiterstadt

Erstellt am: Mai 8th, 2009

Die riesige Shopping-Mall Loop 5, die im Herbst 2009 in Weiterstadt ihre Tore einem Publikum von Frankfurt bis Heidelberg öffnen soll, hat mit ihren 56.000 m² Verkaufsfläche, 177 Geschäften und 2800 kostenlosen Parkplätzen direkt an der Autobahn schon einiges zu bieten. So fürchten jetzt die Einzelhändler in Darmstadts Innenstadt um Ihre Umsätze und ergreifen die Initiative. weiterlesen… »